Day 1 Arrival at San Francisco - Reisverslag uit Menlo Park, Verenigde Staten van Ben Rietveld - WaarBenJij.nu Day 1 Arrival at San Francisco - Reisverslag uit Menlo Park, Verenigde Staten van Ben Rietveld - WaarBenJij.nu

Day 1 Arrival at San Francisco

Door: Ben

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Ben

29 Februari 2012 | Verenigde Staten, Menlo Park

So, on 29-2-2012 at 4.30am Jeroen and I left home on our way to Amsterdam Schiphol. Traffic was fine and if we had't missed the exit Jeroen would have dropped me of at exactly 7am, now we arrived 4 minutes later which was fine. He dropped me at the kiss & go but we only did the go part.

Getting checked in was kind of easy but it did't go that well either. The lady who checked me in in organised my ticket while trying to convince me on a seat with more leg space but it was also 100 euro more so I said no thanks. She wished me a pleasant flight and when I asked, what about my luggage? she replied, is this your first time flying?

I was seated in the middle seat of three seats. On my left a Dutch neuro-psychiatrist and on my right a humorist Iranian guy, I new this wasn't going to be a boring trip. My left hand neighbor is on his way to do studies on Alzheimer disease. We had some interesting conversations about psychology and the tests used to diagnose memory loss. My right hand side neighbor moved to the USA 30 years ago and he has his own engineering company, he literally moves houses. Once a year he visit's family in Iran. Interesting to know that business is booming in Iran despite the sanctions and in his opinion every thing will be fine as long as somebody does not start a war. Paul or Poulad as his Iranian name is spelled is a nice chap to talk to, he has lots of humor.

Meanwhile we passed north of Iceland over north pole area, Greenland and Canada but it was cloudy and not much to see.

Funny to think we left Schiphol at 10:30 local time and landed 11 hour's later in San Francisco at 12:30 local time on the same day.

The first American I met in his own country, the customs officer, spoke to me in Dutch??

Marleen picked me up at the airport and she took me to Mark and Geert's apartment which I really appreciated. It is a 30 minute drive and we chatted about emigrating and so on, nice lady coming from the hart of "Twente" only the Dutch will understand. Marleen had a key to the apartment so she could let me in.

I'm now pacing up and down the living room while typing my story on a tablet. Mark organized a tablet for me to use and I must say you get the feel of it quite easy. The walking up and down the room is because of the cramp in both my feet.
I haven't seen Mark yet, I'm looking forward to meeting up with him when he gets here.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigde Staten, Menlo Park

Ben

Actief sinds 14 Feb. 2010
Verslag gelezen: 113
Totaal aantal bezoekers 19747

Voorgaande reizen:

01 Mei 2014 - 23 Mei 2014

Family-reunion-USA

29 Februari 2012 - 17 Maart 2012

Met Mark door het

03 Maart 2010 - 17 Maart 2010

Visit2010

Landen bezocht: